Augustin Clayton Chapter
National Society Daughters
of the American Revolution

Jonesboro, GA

Home of ' Gone With The Wind '

Augustin Smith Clayton was born in Fredricksburg, Virginia, November 27, 1783, and moved to Georgia
when he was one year of age. At the age of seven he enrolled in Richmond Academy in Augusta, Georgia,
and was a student there when George Washington visited in 1791. Augustin S. Clayton was a member of
the first graduating class of the University of Georgia and was admitted to the bar at the age of twenty-one.
He later became a renowned Georgia attorney, debater, judge, state senator, and U.S. Congressman.
Clayton County, Georgia, was named for him.


Augustin S. Clayton


AboutOurChapter ~

Augustin Clayton Chapter, NSDAR, was organized on June 8, 1973, in Clayton County, Georgia.
The name was chosen to honor Augustin Clayton, the renowned Georgia attorney, debater,
Superior CourtJudge, and legislator. Twenty-three Daughters were at the first organ-
izational meeting. Now, thirty-four years later, we have grown to the present
membership of over one hundred eighty.


The Augustin Clayton Chapter has always endeavored to carry out the
three-fold purposes of the National Society

historic preservation, education, and patriotism

which are the same today as when the Society was founded in 1890.



Augustin Clayton Chapter, NSDAR
2017- 2019

Regent ~ Elizabeth Downey

1st Vice Regent ~ Ginger Bedell

2nd Vice Regent ~ Rosemary Pinson

Chaplain ~ Bonnie Lemacks

Recording Sec. ~ Patricia Wasson

Corresponding Sec. ~ Paula Kurjack

Treasurer ~ Frieda Gibby

Registrar ~ Phyllis Fox Lawson

Historian ~ Laura Hicksn

Librarian ~ Rosemary Pinson

Chapter meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month - September through June at 2:00 p.m.
Night meetings are held at least three times a year for those who can't attend during the day.

For information on joining our Chapter or the C.A.R., please send an e-mail inquiry.
Click the ink well at the bottom of the page.


On March 14, 2000, the Augustin Clayton Chapter voted to sponsor the
Button Gwinnett C.A.R. They write:

"The members and seniors of this CAR Chapter wish to thank all the members of the Augustin Clayton Chapter, NSDAR,
for the recent adoption of our society. We feel extremely fortunate to have the opportunity to grow and prosper under
the sponsorship of such an outstanding Chapter. We look forward to working with you as we strive to meet our goal of
fostering true patriotism among our young people."


35th Anniversary-Augustin Clayton Chapter

Augustin Clayton Activities

Handmade Blankets for Children


Welcoming New Citizens to the U.S.A.

Augustin Clayton, Captain Thomas Cobb, Colonial John McIntosh,
General Daniel Newman, Philadelphia Winn, Pulaski, William McIntosh Chapters Participants


Adopted Soldier 

One of the three solders that members of the Augustin Clayton Chapter, NSDAR
has adopted to send items of comfort.



Button Gwinnett C.A.R. Chapter at GA State Conference

Do you have questions about Membership?

Click for membership information in the

Augustin Clayton Chapter, NSDAR or, visit the National Society website.


 NSDAR Motto: God, Home, and Country


2016-2019 National Theme
Moving Forward in Service to America

 Links To Visit

NSDAR Library 

National Society Daughters of the American Revolution

Georgia State Daughters of the American Revolution

National Society Sons of the American Revolution

National Society Children of the American Revolution

Meadow Garden - Home of George Walton

Kate Duncan Smith DAR School

Tamassee DAR School

The DAR Insignia is the property of, and is copyrighted by, the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.







This page was updated 21-Jun-17 by Beverly J. Baker, VIS Vice Chairman 2016-2018.